Sourdough

I have one failed attempt at creating a sourdough culture under my belt, it was many years ago and I had not tried since. A couple of weeks ago I decided to try again. Last time I measured everything, did it all by the book.  I think I just didn’t give it enough time. This time, I just did whatever I felt like. I read a few peoples methods so I knew the vague gist, then went for it.

It has been a success so far. I have made a couple of loaves that have tasted great. I think it will get stronger and healthier as a culture given time (if I remember to keep feeding it). The bread would have a much greater chance of success if I followed a sourdough bread recipe, not just adding flour and water till it looks/feels right. Also if I looked up how long it is supposed to rest for at each part of its journey. But if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it…

I fed the culture in a bowl and left it covered over night.

IMG_5675

 

IMG_5679
Over night it puffed up and created good bubbles

In the morning I set some of the mixture aside to keep as my culture for future baking. I added more flour as the mix seemed too wet, I then forgot to add salt, gave it a bit of a knead and placed it on a baking tray. I left it there for a few hours, then I baked it.

IMG_5699

As long as there are air bubbles in the loaf and it tastes good I count it as a win. I don’t care so much about shape etc.

IMG_5705
Probably the bubbles will get bigger and better over time. Til then, this is perfectly fine by me!

IMG_5706

Above pic is the starter culture ready for the next loaf.

I am pretty chuffed!

 

Leave a Reply

