Free Success

I guess not completely free as I did buy the initial plum but…

I ate a glorious plum in Summer, it had a deep red flesh outside and in. It was sweet and delicious. I wanted more. I had read on the internet previously about growing fruit trees from the pip. I gave it a go. I had very low expectations but nothing to lose.

I used a hammer to break the outer shell away. I do not own paper towel so I used some clean toilet paper, wet it, wrapped the seed up, popped it in a jar in the fridge and forgot about it.

I remembered about a month or 2 later. Looked at it. Nothing had changed. I put it back in the fridge.

A couple of weeks ago I looked again. Maybe 3 or 4 months after I put it in the fridge. I really should have dated it. Anyway! There was a root growing out. It was about 8 cms long. I was beyond excited. I put it back in the fridge for a few more days til I had time to plant it. I planted it last week.

Now this.

IMG_5313

This is so cool!!!! Obviously this is a long way from giving me plums and there is a lot that can go wrong between now and fruit but this is a great start. For free. Did I mention that. For free. My favourite.

One thought on “Free Success

Leave a Reply

