Problem solving skills

I had to have a student in my car for the day last week. I figured it was probably as good an excuse as any to clean the car out. The problem is the vacuuming part.

3 indoor cats, each very curious. I ran an extension cord out the front so that the vacuum cleaner could reach. This meant that I couldn’t close the door. I thought about running it through a window but I would have had to break the fly wire to do this.

This is my ingenious problem solving piece of string. I tied it to the door handle and to the rail on the other side of the landing.

img_4826

Over the course of the vacuuming each one tried their luck. The string held. There was enough give that I was a little concerned that Lucy may succeed.  The string held. I was a little worried about Herbie’s considerable bulk. The string held.

Success.

img_4828img_4833

img_4838
If I push my face real hard into the gap it may let me out….

img_4841

img_4843
How could you do this to me?

img_4845In order of persistence. Lucy tried the hardest and the longest. Franklin was next most persistent. Herbie only tried for about a minute then gave up. Slacker!

Leave a Reply

