Zero waste cookies

These are one of my favourite snacks to have available in the kitchen. I have made them many many times, each time different. Each time delicious.

img_4801

They are called Nature Cookies. This is where I got the recipe from http://weelicious.com/2014/09/18/nature-cookies-recipe/

I don’t know how I came across them for the first time but I am so glad that I did! They don’t photograph well, they don’t really look anything special in person, but the taste! They are delicious!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour (I use white unbleached organic as that is what I can get package free)
  • 2 cups old fashioned oats
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon (I use at least 3 teaspoons but my love for cinnamon seriously has no limits.)
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 large egg (thank you chickens!)
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract (I make my own, so easy)
  • 1/2 cup raisins*
  • 3/4 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1/4 cup chocolate morsels
  • 1/4 cup dried cherries
  • *Or add 2 cups of any mixture you prefer of the following add-ins: coconut, chocolate morsels, nuts, seeds, and dried fruits

Preheat oven 175C or 350F. In a medium bowl mix together flour, oats, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. In a large bowl using an electric mixer (or your grandmas super cool hand beaters) beat together the butter and honey til light and fluffy. Add the egg and vanilla, mix to combine. Slowly add the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients and mix until just combined (I do just dump it all in, but I am no chef or cooking connoisseur!) Fold in the raisins, walnuts, sunflower seeds, chocolate morsels, and dried cherries (I employ the mix and squash method with my hands, fairly scientific). Grab about a tablespoons worth and shape it into a disc, the cookies do not spread during baking. Bake until golden brown, about 12 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack to cool.

I have a source for each ingredient package free. I don’t follow the ratio at the bottom, I just mix up 2 cups of whatever I have in the pantry. These are some of the things I have used:

Dried fruit: Barberries, cranberries, dates, sultanas, apricot, peaches, cherries, blueberries, any other dried fruit I have on hand. One time I added orange zest, that was nice too.

Almonds and hazelnuts are the 2 nuts I have tried. My sister is allergic to nuts so more often I toast up sunflower and pumpkin seeds and use those instead of nuts. I have added coconut flakes, hemp seeds, cacao nibs, choc chunks, sesame seeds, chia, linseed, seriously what ever I find in the pantry that I think could work. Each time different ratios. All adding up to 2 cups.

These ones had a few squares of dark chocolate, toasted sunflower seeds, toasted pumpkin seeds, cacao nibs, sultanas, and dates.

img_4795

They last well out on the counter. They get eaten within a few days so I can’t vouch for longevity beyond that. They are a great snack and can really tide you over til the next meal.

I don’t measure the size of each one as suggested in the recipe. I got 32 out of this batch.

And at the end, No trash! Yay.

 

Completely unrelated but when I took the photo of the cookies Lucy was just next to me. Her desire to sleep in the sun knows no bounds. She is evidently willing and able to squeeze herself anywhere. She was waiting. The sun reached her about ten minutes later. Clever cookie.

img_4803

Leave a Reply

