Indoor Plants

I decided I wanted some indoor plants, I didn’t want to buy them so I began researching how to take cuttings. Then by a stroke of good fortune I was alerted to someone moving state who wasn’t taking their plants with them. I became their custodian.

I have killed half of them.

While I can happily grow nearly anything outdoors, indoors, I have a black thumb.

Here follows my house plants:

This one I repotted and it is thriving.

IMG_4739

The others are not so happy. I have killed the initial one, killed the replacement and am now onto the third one now and it don’t look good!

IMG_4737
The one on the left has been replaced multiple times and looks miserable right now. The one on the right just keeps holding on. It was a luscious maiden hair fern. Now not so much….
IMG_4738
It could still come back from here, surely!

 

This is Ralph, he is the original house plant, I have kept him alive (just) for years. He has looked like he will die on at least a dozen occassions. He still doesn’t look amazing….

IMG_4740

Don’t know what this one is, it is the only other success.

IMG_4742

I blame the cats for this one, they keep eating it. I have replaced it twice. Fairly sure it can’t come back from this…

IMG_4744

 

I would like to have luscious healthy indoor plants. Not sure what I am doing wrong. I know the first few casualties were from over watering. I thought they were thirsty, I kept watering, they looked thirstier,  I watered more. They were never thirsty but drowning. Who knew? Certainly not I.

I did buy this one, I like the structural look of its leaves. This too is happy.

IMG_4733.JPG

IMG_4736

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The labels on the plants that I have purchased say they are easy to care for. I am finding them easy to kill. Anyone know of a super hardy indoor plant that I will struggle to kill??

 

Leave a Reply

