Misc

I had intended to write about beginning my Christmas present making, one part of my gift is garlic salt. I have dehydrated the garlic, all ready for the weighing and adding of salt. Unfortunately I accidentally deleted the photos I took. So that will have to wait til the next batch I make.

I am also giving herbal tea from the back yard. I am frantically singing to the plants on a daily basis to make them grow faster. I constantly have stuff drying. I think I should have started this process earlier. Oh well live and learn.

Instead I will just ramble on about stuff that is playing on my mind.

I have an employment conundrum. I have a job that I like well enough, there is no stress, but the pay is terrible. I have been offered a job in the area that I am actually trained in, the pay is way better but the stress levels are really high.   Oh money why do you make the world go round????

I have gotten rid of the kitchen bin. I have a small bag that is there for when I slip up or if people bring rubbish into my home. I try not to shove my beliefs/ways down peoples throats, so when they ask where the bin is I tell them about my attempts at zero waste but I let them put stuff in a bin. Although I really am tempted to make them take it home with them so that they can really think about the rubbish that was generated. But I won’t be that person just yet. Tempting though….

IMG_4312

I have finally come up with a solution for the kitty litter. I buy recycled paper litter but have been throwing it in the bin as it shouldn’t be composted if you intend to use that compost on your food. I am going to “borrow” my grandmothers old compost bin that she doesn’t use any more and have a separate compost for kitty litter and material scraps. This will be used only in the flower areas. This had been playing on my mind for a while but I didn’t want to buy another compost bin. I thought about just digging a hole but the chickens are relentless in their love of being naughty and I don’t think I would handle it well if I found them playing in the kitty litter. Gross.

IMG_4378
The little lamb is not allowed on the bench, he is pushing the boundaries and sleeping on the dehydrator.

 

 

 

 

IMG_4376

 

 

 

 

 

 

I buy the cat and chicken food in bulk (cats 10kg, chicken 20kg bags) I have not worked out a way of getting this package free 😦

Otherwise I am pretty happy with where I am at in reducing my waste.

My driving on the other hand is not where I want it to be (I am an excellent driver! I mean usage) It turns out I can justify nearly anything and I can talk myself out of riding my bike way too easily. I really need to work on this. Stop Being So Lazy!!!

IMG_4379
Melbourne weather is so unpredictable, 33 degrees (91F) yesterday, so windy my corn fell over. Today hail and rain.
IMG_4383
Hopefully this afternoon or tomorrow this one will open. Despite this mornings hail it is now sunny again. Melbourne!!
IMG_4381
Hopefully the first zucchini of the season

I suppose that is enough drivel….

 

Leave a Reply

