Pumpkin Pumpkin and more Pumpkin

I have mentioned before that I grew a lot of pumpkin this year. I have finally finished it all!!!!!!!!!!! This is quite momentous. So. Much. Pumpkin. Has. Been. Eaten. I have a pot of soup on the stove now and it represents the last of the pumpkin.

IMG_4170

The freezer is looking a little less packed after taking these jars out.

IMG_4173

Onion from the farmers market, garlic from the back yard, cumin and red lentils package free, water from the tap, pumpkin from the backyard. The only culprit is

IMG_4171I didn’t have stock in the freezer like I thought I did. So I threw in a stock cube. I guess I need a better system in the freezer so it is immediately obvious what is in there.

I cannot express the satisfaction I feel at finally getting through all the pumpkin. I did plant 2 vines again but they are both good storing varieties and I think probably less prolific.Ā  I may have planted the corn too early though as they are massive and blocking the light to the baby pumpkin vines. Trial and error, I can’t say I would be devastated if the pumpkins don’t thrive….

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pumpkin and more Pumpkin

  1. Wow, how many pumpkins did you get? I grew a compact bush variety and got 5 from 4 plants. I did wonder if I should have pruned them to get more fruit but I left them to spread around the veg beds. But 5 is plenty, I am really enjoying making pumpkin risotto with them but may progress to soup as I feel we may get bored of it…

    Like

    1. I didn’t count the actual number of pumpkins but I weighed them, 76kgs! 3 wheel barrows full from 2 vines. I let them ramble too, I think this was just a prolific producing variety, I think 1 or 2 from each vine is a good amount. Once they left the veg garden area and spread across the yard a bit I did pinch the ends out but that was quite late in the season. I made so many different things with the pumpkin both sweet and savoury. So Much Pumpkin! Hope yours are a good storing variety šŸ™‚

      Like

      1. Wow that is a lot of pumpkin, my harvest fitted in a large trug! I did notice you’re in Australia, probably a better climate for pumpkin growing than in England! Still definitely something to aim for next pumpkin season though…

        Like

  2. Oh gosh don’t aim for that! I am not growing that variety this year. I live in Melbourne which I think is a good climate for growing most things. I do love an abundance but that was too much!! I am aiming for about what you grew. Enough but not crazy šŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

