Pumpkins

Last year during the planning stages for my food garden I envisaged a lovely box or 2 of potatoes, 6 or 7 pumpkins, and some garlic and onions to be my storage foods for the Winter. I planted accordingly (I thought) and succeeded in all areas, although I would say I over achieved in the pumpkin area. I planted 2 varieties, one great for storage and one named the Cinderella pumpkin because they are gloriously red/orange looking picture perfect pumpkins. The good storage one (Queensland Blue) died in a late unexpected frost. So I planted my back up plant, although due to a poor labeling system I was unsure which of the 2 it was. It was the Cinderella one… At the end of the season from 2 Cinderella vines I had 76kgs of pumpkins that don’t store that well. Lucky me!IMG_3118I had 3 wheelbarrows full.

As each one started to show signs of going bad I steamed and pureed them and put them in the freezer till I wanted to make pumpkin soup or anything pumpkinny. I have been quite creative with the pumpkin puree, pumpkin scones, pumpkin fruit loaf, pumpkin bread, pumpkin curry, pumpkin pasta sauce, both savoury and sweet pumpkin muffins, pumpkin cake, pumpkin pie, pumpkin risotto, pumpkin has been added to everything here!

IMG_3243IMG_3265

This was one of the largest ones, weighing in at 16kgs, it was a mammoth job to cut and cook it all.  I still have 2 pumpkins sitting in my lounge room, the last 2 left. I am suprised at how many people have asked if they are real. Unusual choice for decoration if you ask me. Lack of appropriate storage space being the actual reason they are there. IMG_3546These last 2 have actually stored really well, for a while there I was cutting and cooking at least a pumpkin a week. Freezer space was an issue! I haven’t had to do anything to these last 2 (except frequent inspections) and they have been sitting there peacefully for months. Yay! I only have a few jars of pumpkin left in the freezer. I am suprised I have not turned orange I have eaten so much pumpkin.

The reason I am pondering all the pumpkin is… It is planning time again! I feel I need to not plant pumpkin ever again, but then I get food shortage fear. So I will not plant this Cinderella variety, I will plant 1 vine of a well storing variety. I think 1 but maybe 2 would be better. Food hoarding, it is real.

2 thoughts on “Pumpkins

Leave a Reply

